0
Under review

Feature Request: Reducing the number of clicks to log in to the e-edition

Andrea 10 months ago in BLOX CMS • updated 10 months ago 2

It takes four clicks from the time a user hits our e-edition section front (http://www.herald-dispatch.com/eedition/) until he is actually viewing an e-edition page.


Our request is to reduce the number of steps.


1) What problem(s) does this idea solve?


We have our e-edition locked down to subscribers only, and they must log in each day to access the e-edition. Four clicks is a bit much to get to where they are going. If the "Sign Up or Log In" screen could be replaced with the appropriate text-fields for logins or sign-up instead of the buttons, it would reduce the number of clicks.


2) Why do you need this idea implemented? Provide as many problems or use cases as possible.

Fewer clicks to log in would improve user experience.


3) How often would you use this feature?

Subscribers would use it every day.


4) How many people in your organization would use this feature?

Employees also must have logins to access the e-edition, so it would help us, as well.


Answer

Answer
Under review

Hi Andrea!


We have to make sure that the page where the user enters their information (username/password) is on a fully-secure (https) page, so it must redirect to a secure page, and then come back once the user is authenticated. This is a requirement of modern browsers to avoid "Man in the Middle" attacks (where a hacker will capture data and send it off to a third party).


It is possible once your site switches to become fully encrypted that we could look at ways to move the username and password up a step or two. I will ask about this.


I would also recommend that you turn on "remember me" for your site. I also recommend to make it "disabled at user's option" - so most users end up with the setting.


This way, a bunch of your users will already be authenticated and remembered, and they will get right in with one click! If they don't delete their cookies, they will remain remembered for 365 days.


More information: https://help.bloxcms.com/knowledge-base/applications/settings/users/workspace/article_a8b8751e-2bf3-11e5-a626-df030e819425.html

Answer
Under review

Hi Andrea!


We have to make sure that the page where the user enters their information (username/password) is on a fully-secure (https) page, so it must redirect to a secure page, and then come back once the user is authenticated. This is a requirement of modern browsers to avoid "Man in the Middle" attacks (where a hacker will capture data and send it off to a third party).


It is possible once your site switches to become fully encrypted that we could look at ways to move the username and password up a step or two. I will ask about this.


I would also recommend that you turn on "remember me" for your site. I also recommend to make it "disabled at user's option" - so most users end up with the setting.


This way, a bunch of your users will already be authenticated and remembered, and they will get right in with one click! If they don't delete their cookies, they will remain remembered for 365 days.


More information: https://help.bloxcms.com/knowledge-base/applications/settings/users/workspace/article_a8b8751e-2bf3-11e5-a626-df030e819425.html

I see. We plan on moving to secure, but there's no timetable for it yet.

In the past, I did try having "remember me" turned on. However, it did not work for us for some reason. I have turned it on again to see what happens.


Thanks!